ITD Drive Insured graphic


The Canyon County Assessor’s Office is reminding drivers to please direct all questions related to the new proof of insurance law to the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) through the department’s dedicated “Drive Insured” phone number, email address, or webpage.

Phone: (208) 334-8075

ITD’s announcement of the new HB179 going into effect in January has led to a flood of phone calls to the Assessor’s Motor Vehicle and Title Registration Office in recent weeks. This program is maintained solely by the Idaho Transporation Department, and the Motor Vehicle staff only has limited access to information about the program. Please direct all questions regarding HB179 to the Idaho Transportation Department.

Additional info about the new law
The law (Idaho Code Section 49-1234) was passed during the 2019 Idaho legislative session and goes into effect in January 2020. It requires the Idaho Transportation Department’s Division of Motor Vehicles to determine monthly whether the owner of a vehicle has insurance. The law applies only to non-commercial vehicles and excludes trailers and off-highway vehicles.

Owners without insurance coverage for two consecutive months will receive a warning and be given 30 days to provide proof of insurance or obtain an exemption before their registration is suspended.

To reinstate a suspended registration, owners will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a fee of $75. This fee must be paid directly to ITD. County motor vehicle offices cannot accept payments for reinstatement fees.

For more information, please visit

English | Esp